## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents Office of Investigations 600 Washington Street Boston, Mass. 02111 Workers' Compensation Insurance Affidavit

Applicant information Pl	lease PRINT legibly		
Name:			
Location:		Phone #	
City Policy #			
<ul> <li>I am a homeowner perform</li> <li>I am a sole proprietor and</li> </ul>	ming all work myself. have no one working in any capacity		
<ul> <li>I am an employer providing workers' compensation for my employees working on this job.</li> </ul>			
Company name:		-	- -
Address:			
City:		Phone #	
Insurance Co.	Policy #		
		Foncy #	
I am a sole proprietor, general who have the following worke	contractor, or homeowner (circle one) at ers' compensation policies:	nd have hired th	he contractors listed below
Company name:			
Address:			
City:	Phone #		
Insurance Co.	Policy #		
penalties of a fine up to \$1,50 WORK ORDER and a fine forwarded to the Office of Inve	s required under Section 25A of MGL 0.00 and/or one year's imprisonment as of \$100.00 a day against me. I under estigation of the DIA for coverage verifies s and penalties of perjury that the informatio	well as civil pe stand that a co cation.	enalties in the form of a STOP opy of this statement may be
Print name	Phone #		
Official use only do not write in this area to be completed by city or town official			
City or town	permit/license #		Building Department
Check if immediate response is required			
			Health Department

## Information and Instructions

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 section 25 requires all employers to provide workers' compensation for their employees. As quoted from the "law", an *employee* is defined as every person in the service of another under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written.

An *employer* is defined as an individual, partnership, corporation or other legal entity, or any two or more of the foregoing engaged in a joint enterprise, and including the legal representatives of a deceased employer, or the receiver or trustee of an individual, partnership, association or other legal entity, employing employees. However the owner of a house having not more than three apartments and who resides therein, or the occupant of the dwelling house of another who employs persons to do maintenance, construction or repair work on such dwelling house or on the grounds or building appurtenant thereto shall not because of such employment be deemed an employer.

MGL chapter 152 section 25 also states that every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any applicant who has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required. Additionally, neither the commonwealth nor any of its political subdivisions shall enter into any contract for the performance of public work until acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance requirements of this chapter have been presented to the contracting authority.

Applicant

Please fill in the workers' compensation affidavit completely by checking the box that applies to your situation and supplying company names, address and phone numbers as all affidavits may be submitted to the Department of Industrial Accidents for confirmation insurance coverage. Also be sure to sign and date the affidavit. The affidavit should be returned to the city or town that the application for the permit or license is being requested, not the Department of Industrial Accidents. Should you have any questions regarding the "law" or if you are required to obtain a workers' compensation policy, please call the Department at the number listed below.

Please be sure that the affidavit is complete and printed legibly. The Department has provided a space at the bottom of the affidavit for you to fill out in the event the Office of Investigations has to contact you regarding the applicant. Please be sure to fill in the permit/license number which will be used as a reference number. The affidavits may be returned to the Department by mail or FAX unless other arrangements have been made.

The Office of Investigations would like to thank you in advance for your cooperation and should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

The Department's address, telephone and FAX number:

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents Office of Investigations 600 Washington Street Boston, Mass. 02111 FAX # (617) 727-7749 Phone # (617) 727-4900 ext. 406, 409 or 375

City or Towns